RSS

(Some of) The Best Words My Wife Ever Said To Me

17 May

There was the first time she said “I love you.” There was the time she said “yes” when I asked her to be my wife. When she said our wedding vows I was overcome with emotion.  The time she sat me down and told me we were expecting Ella Claire was a moment I’ll never forget. And then one night as we were going to bed she turned to me and said, “you know, I was thinking…”

I’ve come to expect the unexpected when she starts her sentence with “you know I was thinking…”

The words following could be anything from “we should go to New York for our anniversary” to “we should get each other a refrigerator for Christmas this year.”

But that night was even more unexpected. We had just gotten ready for bed. I changed the channel to Sportscenter and set the sleep timer on the television. I leaned in for a kiss goodnight when she said some of the best words she’s ever said to me.

She said, “you know, I was thinking that the pitcher in baseball is way more important than the quarterback of a football team. If the pitcher stinks, the whole team loses. The quarterback isn’t even on the field half the game. And then he usually gives the ball to someone else. Why does everybody make such a big deal about the quarterback? Pitchers have way more pressure on them.”

I wanted to dive in and discuss the merits of her statement. I wanted to tell her how much I agreed with her. I wanted to have an intelligent response highlighting a few examples to further solidify her point. I wanted to mention all the football teams that won a Superbowl with a mediocre quarterback. I wanted to tell her how almost every baseball team that has success in the postseason relies on outstanding pitching.

But I couldn’t.

All I could do was look at her and say “I love you babe.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 17, 2011 in Marriage, My Wife Rocks, Sports

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment